2021 AGENDA

Wednesday 16th & Thursday 17th June

Times on the agenda are subject to change based on timings during the event.

Flamingo Stage

09:30 - Registration & Virtual Coffee


Presented by Rob Armstrong-Haworth and Daniel Marrable. 01:30 - PDT 04:30 - EDT 09:30 - BST 18:30 - AEST




10:00 - Conference Open & Introductions


Presented by Rob Armstrong-Haworth and Daniel Marrable. PDT - 02:00 EDT - 05:00 BST - 10:00 AEST - 19:00




10:30 - Fergus Crawley - The Modern Mindset


Presented by Fergus Crawley. Recently featured in Roman Kemp’s BBC documentary: Our Silent Emergency, Fergus is a survivor of a suicide attempt in 2016, and has since raised almost £100,000 for men’s mental health and suicide prevention through a series of extreme endurance challenges. Fergus now openly discusses the mistakes that he made with his own mental health in the past, and campaigns for individual change and agency on the matter. PDT - 02:30 EDT - 05:30 BST - 10:30 AEST - 19:30




12:00 - Nick Entwistle - One Minute Briefs


Presented by Nick Entwistle. One Rule. One Minute. Create an Ad. Challenge your creative community to respond with instinctive ideas to daily advertising briefs. Interact with huge audiences in an engaging, cost-effective ways whilst creating quality content PDT - 04:00 EDT - 07:00 BST - 12:00 AEST - 21:00




13:00 - Break


Pre-Recorded activities & Virtual Networking. PDT - 05:00 EDT - 08:00 BST - 13:00 AEST - 22:00




14:00 - Rebecca Roberts - Why We Have to Work Harder to Make Things Better For Youth Audiences in 2021


Presented by Rebecca Roberts. Exposing the latest data and research reports, this talk will help create a picture of the current considerations that not only influence how we might choose to recruit and engage with prospective students, but why more than ever, we need empathy at the core of our approach. PDT - 06:00 EDT - 09:00 BST - 14:00 AEST - 23:00




15:00 - Jonny Vaughan and Ayala Gordon- What are the five Cs of social media content?


Presented by Jonny Vaughan and Ayala Gordon. When working in digital, there are many ways to collect data on content we publish. Analysing the data can also give us valuable insights into user behaviour, what's work and what doesn't such as: content gap, interactions, and much more! A key focus to our work at University of Southampton digital user experience team is to make online information and services easier to find and understand for the people using them. We wanted to share some of our most recent experience with using data to make important content work better. PDT - 07:00 EDT - 10:00 BST - 15:00 AEST - 00:00




16:00 - Break


Pre-Recorded activities & Virtual Networking. PDT - 08:00 EDT - 11:00 BST - 16:00 AEST - 01:00




16:30 - Olivia Wedderburn - Social for good: brands responsibility to community


Presented by Olivia Wedderburn. If brand purpose was the defining marketing role of the last couple of years, this time round it’s all about how that translates to social – and more specifically - the communities within it. Whilst platforms are cracking down on certain safety elements, a lack of government guidance and the prevalence of trolls makes these waters still murky ones to navigate. As brands, it’s our responsibility to ensure that the content and communities we’re creating are safe spaces, especially for younger people, and be part of the change we want to see. This session takes you through how two of Unilever’s biggest brands pivoted from purpose into social good, and the tangible steps you can take to foster a safe environment for your audience on your channels. We’ll also look at some of the step’s platforms are taking to support this, and why we need to apply the pressure to governing bodies to shape the future of social for the better. PDT - 08:30 EDT - 11:30 BST - 16:30 AEST - 01:30




17:30 - Morgan Goff and Rickie Huffman - How We Prioritized Coordinated and Purposeful Recruitment Efforts on Social … And How You Can Do It Too!


Presented by Morgan Goff and Rickie Huffman. The pandemic has put one thing on every university’s marketing to-do list – recruitment and retention efforts. Over the past few years, the West Virginia University Social Media team has collaborated with our Office of Admissions to create more recruitment-focused social media content. In creating this partnership, we’ve been able to work closely to fulfill one of our largest University goals – adding more students to the Mountaineer family. Now, we want to show other university social media managers how they can achieve this too. Our strategy in creating this recruitment-focused content is based on effective communication across our teams and respective platforms. We focus on what works by utilizing content buckets, tracking links via Google Analytics, and keeping an updated content calendar. PDT - 09:30 EDT - 12:30 BST - 17:30 AEST - 02:30




18:30 - Break


Pre-Recorded activities & Virtual Networking. PDT - 10:30 EDT - 13:30 BST - 18:30 AEST - 03:30




19:30 - Prof. Sir Anton Muscatelli & Dr. Daria Willis - Leadership on Social


Presented by Prof. Sir Anton Muscatelli & Dr. Daria Willis. Join the conversation about senior education leaders using social media for global communication and to show leadership. PDT - 11:30 EDT - 14:30 BST - 19:30 AEST - 04:30




20:30 - Jenny Li Fowler - Social media strategy


Presented by Jenny Li Fowler. Social media in universities should not be run by a team of one, or be a bullet point buried way down a job description. Jenny Li Fowler from Massachusetts Institute of Technology shares her survival tips for teams of one, and a few home truths for leaders too (watch out!). PDT - 12:30 EDT - 15:30 BST - 20:30 AEST - 05:30




21:30 - Break


Pre-Recorded activities & Virtual Networking. PDT - 13:30 EDT - 16:30 BST - 21:30 AEST - 06:30




22:00 - Alexa Heinrich - Accessible Social


Presented by Alexa Heinrich. So you want to be more inclusive online? Learn the tips, tricks and best practices you can implement to make your online presence more accessible. Ultimately, this makes a big impact on the experience that users with vision and/or hearing disabilities have on social media. PDT - 14:00 EDT - 18:00 BST - 22:00 AEST - 07:00




23:00 - Jon-Stephen Stansel & Joel Goodman - Live recording of Thought Feed Podcast


Presented by Jon-Stephen Stansel & Joel Goodman. LIVE Recording at ADAN21 of the Thought Feeder Podcast - a Higher ED Digital Marketing Podcast. With guest Austin Braun from The University of Colorado. PDT - 15:00 EDT - 18:00 BST - 23:00 AEST - 08:00




00:00 - Break


Pre-Recorded activities & Virtual Networking. PDT - 16:00 EDT - 19:00 BST - 00:00 AEST - 09:00




00:30 - #HigherEdSocial Awards


Best of HESM 20-21 Awards: Celebrating the best work in Higher Ed Social Media & Digital Marketing and Communications Lightning panels; 1) Meet the National Institute for Social Media and learn how you can get certified. 2) Judges Reflections 3) Designing for Social with UCDA. 4) Mental Health for Social Media Managers with Tony Dobies from VWU. PDT - 16:30 EDT - 19:30 BST - 00:30 AEST - 09:30




01:30 - #HigherEdSocial Awards


Best of HESM 20-21 Awards: Celebrating the best work in Higher Ed Social Media & Digital Marketing and Communications Lightning panels; 1) Meet the National Institute for Social Media and learn how you can get certified. 2) Judges Reflections 3) Designing for Social with UCDA. 4) Mental Health for Social Media Managers with Tony Dobies from VWU. PDT - 17:30 EDT - 20:30 BST - 01:30 AEST - 10:30




02:30 - Break


Pre-Recorded activities & Virtual Networking. PDT - 18:30 EDT - 21:30 BST - 02:30 AEST - 11:30




03:00 - Callie Goodwin - The HESM Toolbox


Presented by Callie Goodwin. Welcome to the HESM Toolbox, where we will be digging through my collection of sites, apps, and programs that help me with automation, social management, and content creation. PDT - 12:00 EDT - 22:00 BST - 03:00 AEST - 12:00




04:00 - Break


Pre-Recorded activities & Virtual Networking. PDT - 20:00 EDT - 23:00 BST - 04:00 AEST - 13:00




05:00 - Mel Bruce - Using challenges to encourage social media engagement


Presented by Mel Bruce. Getting students and faculty to engage on social media can feel like an impossible task. In this talk I will discuss how social media challenges can encourage students and faculty to create content and engage to create a strong online community for your university/college. PDT - 21:00 EDT - 00:00 BST - 05:00 AEST - 14:00




06:00 - Cameron Pegg - How to master data-driven storytelling


Presented by Cameron Pegg. Incredible infographics and #dataviz should be part of every marketer’s toolkit. Yet these engaging and versatile content formats remain overlooked and undervalued.

We'll explore how a diverse range of successful brands utilise data-driven storytelling for their packaging, in-store experience, advertising and external engagement to make compelling calls-to-action for new and existing customers. PDT - 22:00 EDT - 01:00 BST - 06:00 AEST - 15:00




07:00 - Break


Pre-Recorded activities & Virtual Networking. PDT - 23:00 EDT - 02:00 BST - 07:00 AEST - 16:00




07:30 - Dr. Karen Sutherland - Live Streaming for Promotion and Market Research


Presented by Dr. Karen Sutherland. In this talk I will explain how I have have been interviewing graduates from the University of the Sunshine Coast as part of a weekly live streaming show that is broadcast via Facebook, LinkedIn and Twitter (and later uploaded to YouTube). The livestream is how I'm gathering data for a research project while simultaneously promoting USC courses and grads to current and prospective students. PDT - 23:30 EDT - 02:30 BST - 07:30 AEST - 16:30




08:30 - Rob Brooks - Impact of Facebook Australia Shutdown


Presented by Rob Brooks. In February 2021, Facebook took the extraordinary step of restricting all content from news providers in Australia, including the removal of all past content from these pages (further context: A number of pages from community organisations, including universities, were also mistakenly restricted. My talk is about how I managed having our university Facebook page restricted during Orientation Week, and what this sort of action from Facebook could mean for the future of the social media landscape. PDT - 00:30 EDT - 03:30 BST - 08:30 AEST - 17:30




09:30 - Conference Wrap Up


Presented by Rob Armstrong-Haworth and Daniel Marrable. PDT - 01:30 EDT - 04:30 BST - 09:30 AEST - 18:30




10:00 - Conference End


PDT - 02:00 EDT - 05:00 BST - 10:00 AEST - 19:00





Coral Stage

09:30 - Please move to Flamingo Stage


01:30 - PDT 04:30 - EDT 09:30 - BST 18:30 - AEST




10:00 - Please move to Flamingo Stage


PDT - 02:00 EDT - 05:00 BST - 10:00 AEST - 19:00




10:30 - Please move to Flamingo Stage


PDT - 02:30 EDT - 05:30 BST - 10:30 AEST - 19:30




12:00 - Tracy Playle - What would Scooby do?


Presented by Tracy Playle. Some of us go to great lengths to understand and truly get to know our audiences. Through community management and regular engagement, to audience research and user testing. There are many ways that we can – and already do – seek to know them better and empathise with them through our content. But what don’t we know about them? What are the mysteries yet to be uncovered that might actually hold the key that will take our engagement strategies from great to outstanding. What are they not saying? What are they not sharing? What’s hidden from plain sight, and leading us on a path of assumption and belief, instead of truly knowing and fully understanding? In this session we’ll explore the power of supercharging your curiosity to really have you sniff out the truth about your audiences. PDT - 04:00 EDT - 07:00 BST - 12:00 AEST - 21:00




13:00 - Break


Pre-Recorded activities & Virtual Networking. PDT - 05:00 EDT - 08:00 BST - 13:00 AEST - 22:00




14:00 - Jennifer Van Alstyne - How to Get Professors and Grad Students Excited About Content Creation


Presented by Jennifer Van Alstyne. Professors and graduate students would like to share the cool things they do with their universities. Oftentimes they don't know how. And, imposter syndrome keeps them from reaching out. Do you want your professors excited to collaborate on social media and other types of content? Learn how awareness, clear communication, ease-of-use, and setting expectations can help you when working with professors and graduate students. Plus, a simple Google Form for gathering the information you need. PDT - 06:00 EDT - 09:00 BST - 14:00 AEST - 23:00




15:00 - Trina Everall - Thinking like a journalist - your questions answered on how to make your content work harder to reach your target audiences.


Presented by Trina Everall featuring Rachel Hall. Since the beginning of the pandemic Stori have been amplifying and telling the stories of universities across the UK reading and reviewing 100s of pieces of content. In our Q & A with Guardian news and media journalist Rachel hall we will discuss how the pandemic has driven change in HE content, what worked, what didn't and how we can build for a better future. PDT - 07:00 EDT - 10:00 BST - 15:00 AEST - 00:00




16:00 - Break


Pre-Recorded activities & Virtual Networking. PDT - 08:00 EDT - 11:00 BST - 16:00 AEST - 01:00




16:30 - Rolf - University of Warwick Campus Cat on social influence


Featuring Rolf the Cat. Rolf lives with his humans a mile a way from the Warwick University campus. They wanted a normal cat but Rolf had other ideas and wanted to be a campus cat. His humans set Rolf up with a social media presence so that staff and students on campus would know about him and keep him safe on campus. It just snowballed and now Rolf has a greater social media presence than most university corporate accounts in the UK. Rolf has been granted freedom of the campus by the Vice Chancellor and he is an ambassacat for student wellbeing during studies. - Chief Transformation Officer for NHS England Helen Bevan takes us through what we can all learn about social influence from Rolf the campus cat. PDT - 08:30 EDT - 11:30 BST - 16:30 AEST - 01:30




17:30 - Please move to Flamingo Stage


PDT - 09:30 EDT - 12:30 BST - 17:30 AEST - 02:30




18:30 - Santanu Vasant - Take a Twalk on the Wild Side


Presented by Santanu Vasant.

How can you use A Twitter walk or Twalk to enhance your student experience and engage students with their surroundings and align this activity to your learning design?

PDT - 10:30

EDT - 13:30

BST - 18:30

AEST - 03:30




19:30 - Dave Musson - Why aren't we podcasting yet?


Presented by Dave Musson. It seems like everyone started a podcast in 2020, didn’t it? That might be true for celebrities, but there’s still a huge gap when it comes to podcasting in Higher Ed - even though universities and colleges are a *great* fit for the medium. In this session, I’ll do my usual thing of evangelising about podcasts, convincing you why your institution should be making great audio, and taking some of the fear out of it. I’ll also explore some of the different styles of podcast you can make to stand out from the crowd, give you a bunch of different ideas for you to build your own podcast around, and a load of (mainly free) tools that will make your podcasting adventure that much easier. PDT - 11:30 EDT - 14:30 BST - 19:30 AEST - 04:30




20:30 - Please move to Flamingo Stage


PDT - 12:30 EDT - 15:30 BST - 20:30 AEST - 05:30




21:30 - Break


Pre-Recorded activities & Virtual Networking. PDT - 13:30 EDT - 16:30 BST - 21:30 AEST - 06:30




22:00 - Please move to Flamingo Stage


PDT - 14:00 EDT - 18:00 BST - 22:00 AEST - 07:00




23:00 - Please move to Flamingo Stage


PDT - 15:00 EDT - 18:00 BST - 23:00 AEST - 08:00




00:00 - Break


Pre-Recorded activities & Virtual Networking. PDT - 16:00 EDT - 19:00 BST - 00:00 AEST - 09:00




00:30 - Please move to Flamingo Stage


PDT - 16:30 EDT - 19:30 BST - 00:30 AEST - 09:30




01:30 - Please move to Flamingo Stage


PDT - 17:30 EDT - 20:30 BST - 01:30 AEST - 10:30




02:30 - Break


Pre-Recorded activities & Virtual Networking. PDT - 18:30 EDT - 21:30 BST - 02:30 AEST - 11:30




03:00 - Please move to Flamingo Stage


PDT - 12:00 EDT - 22:00 BST - 03:00 AEST - 12:00




04:00 - Break


Pre-Recorded activities & Virtual Networking. PDT - 20:00 EDT - 23:00 BST - 04:00 AEST - 13:00




05:00 - Please move to Flamingo Stage


PDT - 21:00 EDT - 00:00 BST - 05:00 AEST - 14:00




06:00 - Please move to Flamingo Stage


PDT - 22:00 EDT - 01:00 BST - 06:00 AEST - 15:00




07:00 - Break


Pre-Recorded activities & Virtual Networking. PDT - 23:00 EDT - 02:00 BST - 07:00 AEST - 16:00




07:30 - Please move to Flamingo Stage


PDT - 23:30 EDT - 02:30 BST - 07:30 AEST - 16:30




08:30 - Please move to Flamingo Stage


PDT - 00:30 EDT - 03:30 BST - 08:30 AEST - 17:30




09:30 - Conference Wrap Up


PDT - 01:30 EDT - 04:30 BST - 09:30 AEST - 18:30




10:00 - Conference End


PDT - 02:00 EDT - 05:00 BST - 10:00 AEST - 19:00